School Curriculum

The School follows the 2015 National Curriculum for Literacy, Numeracy, Science, ICT, History, Geography, Music, Art and D.T.  We follow the Warwickshire agreed syllabus for R.E.

We have a three year rolling topic programme to provide stimulating and exciting learning for our children. 

Our main reading scheme is Oxford Reading Tree and this is supplemented by a wide variety of other reading materials in fiction and non-fiction.



Throughout the year we will explore different topics to support the children’s interests and learning.

Autumn Term 2017

  • People who help us
  • Maths topic

Spring Term 2018

  • Toys and movements
  • All about me and my family

Summer Term 2018

  • Our community
  • Things that grow and food

These topics will cover all seven areas of the Foundation Stage curriculum throughout the Nursery environment. We provide opportunities for children to use all resources and materials to enhance their early mark- making and creative skills, which encourages and supports independence and making their own choices.


Class 2

Welcome to class 2

We are a mixed aged Y1 and 2 class so all the learning covers the objectives for both year groups from the National Curriculum.  In Ks1, we use objective led planning, so that the learning objective is at the core of all teaching and learning.  The activities that the children engage in all relate back to the intended learning objective.  In the morning our learning is based on the core English and Maths key skills. 

The children will be taught handwriting, SPAG (spelling and grammar), Phonics, reading and writing. 

Our handwriting policy means that children are taught to join their letters in year One and in Year Two we practise our joins and work on letter size, position on the line and maintaining a fluid handwriting style.  Where possible, handwriting practice is linked to other areas of the curriculum such as spelling or poetry.

In Year One, the children will participate in daily phonics lessons, based on Phase Five phonics (this consists mainly of vowel digraphs, split digraphs and trigraphs).  As part of some phonics lessons the children will be expected to read and spell real and nonsense words. This allows us to check the children’s ability to segment and blend words.  Towards the end of the year the children will take part in a statutory phonics test, which the planned phonics lessons will help to prepare the children for.

In addition to the phonics the children will have daily SPAG lessons where they are taught grammar and spelling such as words with suffixes, homophones, plurals and will become very familiar with the technical vocabulary such as noun, proper noun, pronoun, verb, adverb, adjective, clause, adverbial phrases and  so on.  They will be taught to use, punctuate  and apply the four different sentence types- statements, questions, commands and exclamations.  The children will learn to read and spell correctly the common exception words for years One and Two.

Reading is taught in many ways throughout the day.  Our books are all book banded and children will be encouraged to change their books daily.  They do this independently, choosing from the colour coded basket. We read individually with the children each week and the children will also read in a guided group each week where the teaching is more focussed on the comprehension of a text.   To support the reading in school, it is essential that the children practise reading at home to an adult on a regular basis.  We encourage the children to try to read five times a week (little and often is usually more beneficial than a longer read once a week) We ask parents to record a home read in the reading records and the children are rewarded with a sticker if they manage to complete  five home reads  in a week.

We teach the maths curriculum in blocked units to allow children time to absorb new information, practise key skills and apply their knowledge.  We include lots of hands on, practical activities and follow the theory that children learn best using real objects to begin with, moving on using pictures of objects and symbols before moving on to work in the abstract to answer problems connected to number, shape and measures.  Daily short lessons based on all four number operations are taught daily in addition to the main maths lesson to increase maths fluency.

At the end of the year the children in Year two will participate in SATs tests to assess the children’s attainment in English and Maths.  Alongside the tests, we will be making our own teacher assessments.  This information will be passed on to the children’s next school and used to assess progress as the children move up through the curriculum. 

Alongside Maths and English, the remaining National Curriculum subjects are taught mostly in the afternoons, but are also included in our Maths and English lessons where subjects are linked and fit together.  Science is taught separately to Year One and Two each week.

Being a Church of England school, RE is taught in separate weekly lessons.  Pupils will gain an understanding of all the six principal religions and recognise that many people hold secular (non-religious) views. Particular focus is given to Christianity and two other religions chosen from Buddhism, Hinduism, Islam, Judaism and Sikhism. Pupils develop an understanding of the role of religion in encouraging forgiveness, bridge-building and reconciliation. 

P.E. is taught twice a week on a Monday and a Friday.  The children are required to have their PE kit in school all week to allow for flexibility in the curriculum.  Games will often be taught outside, so it is useful if the children have joggers as part of their P.E. kit in the colder weather.  There are also after school sports clubs that the children can participate in. 

To bring our learning alive, we plan in a termly school trip that fits in with the current learning.  Examples of recent trips include Shakespeare’s birth place, and Brandon Marsh Nature centre. We also visit the theatre each year, usually around Christmas time.  When possible we have visiting speakers and local experts who will come in to school and talk to the children about their job or interest.  Year One have a visit form the Fire Fighters to teach them important safety information.

 Being fortunate to be in such a rural setting, we try to bring our learning outside where possible.  A lot of our Science and Art work takes place outside in the school grounds.  Year One learn about seasonal weather patterns as part of their Science and we are in a great position to view the changing seasons all around us.


For further information on any aspect of our curriculum, please use the 'contact us' page to get in touch with us.

© 2018 Leamington Hastings C of E Academy. School website created using School Jotter, a Webanywhere product. [Administer Site]